Connect with us
Like Homeschool.com on Facebook Follow Homeschool.com on Twitter Pin Homeschool.com on Pinterest Add Homeschool.com on Google+ Visit Our Homeschooling Forum Visit Our Youtube Channel
Homeschool.com, the #1 homeschooling community.  We help you take learning from Ordinary to Extraordinary!
| More
space

Homeschool.com Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedAbeka DVD vs Bob Jones DVD??

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
supplyhoarder View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Abeka DVD vs Bob Jones DVD??
    Posted: 27/Dec/2007 at 7:47am

Hi Everyone,

I am new to hs'ing and am still in the process of trying to decide which curriculum to use.  My husband and I are leaning toward the Abeka DVD program b/c we are new to this and feel unsure of ourselves.  We have a 13 yr old son who will be withdrawing from public school after the Christmas break.  If you have any advice or info you'd like to share about the Abeka DVD program, please do.  I would certainly appreciate all the help I can get. 

Oh...the other program we have looked at is the Bob Jones DVD?  Any advice/suggestions about that one as well?

elliemaejune View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27/Dec/2007 at 8:08am

I could not recommend ABeka, not the DVDs, not just the books. Way too overwhelming, even for people who are more experienced.

I like BJUP's textbooks much better, and I have heard good things about HomeSat. However, if your ds is not academically strong, HomeSat might be too big a challenge for him.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27/Dec/2007 at 4:07pm
Thanks for the info!  What curriculum do you use and why did you choose that one? 
Admin Group
Admin Group

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27/Dec/2007 at 5:07pm

We used a variety of materials from different publishers.

We liked BJUP's history texts; Saxon for math; Easy Grammar and Writing Strands for grammar/comp.