Sonrise Stable’s Product Reviews

Sonrise Stable Ages 6 and Up, $7.95 and up

The Sonrise Stable series of books (presently there are four books in the series) is the heartwarming, continuing story of an extended homeschooling family. Mixing adventure, life lessons, and realistic horse experiences, the series is a must for readers who enjoy family values, the Christian faith, and, of course, horses!

As mentioned, there are four books in series (a fifth one is slated)–a synopsis of the four books follows:

Book 1: Sonrise Stable: Rosie and Scamper

While learning to ride at Sonrise Stable, eight-year-old Rosie dreams of the horse shows she will win with her pony, Jet. Two years later, nothing is exactly the way Rosie planned it–she’s riding a new pony, Scamper, and learning that life isn’t always easy. But it’s as Rosie reaches out to the new girl next door that she truly begins to see that God works all things together for good in our lives.

Book 2: Sonrise Stable: Carrie and Bandit

Carrie can’t believe it–she has a horse of her own and is only weeks away from being adopted by the most loving family she’s ever known. But Bandit is harder to manage than she first imagined–and the adoption might not go as smoothly as she thought either. When a bad decision jeopardizes everything, Carrie learns what it means to be forgiven and truly loved.

Book 3: Sonrise Stable: Clothed With Thunder

After sitting through a 4-H demonstration on the evolution of the horse, Rosie and Carrie are determined to present the arguments for creation at the club’s next meeting. The demonstration proves harder to put together than they imagined as everyone offers the girls their opinions. The lessons Rosie learns about creation extend into her life in surprising ways as she faces her old adversary, Billy King, who cheated her out of her first trophy with her pony, Scamper.

Book 4: Sonrise Stable: Tender Mercies

When Rosie, Carrie, and Grandma are asked to help out at Last Chance Corral, a nursemareĀ foal rescue, Rosie is shocked when she experiences firsthand how cruel some people can be to animals. During the week at Last Chance, the girls learn that the God who knows when a sparrow falls to the ground works through the kindness of others to provide for the animals He created. For the foals, and the girls, Last Chance Corral is a life-changing experience.
In addition to the books, the Sonrise site also sells very attractive horse-related jewelry. The various pieces range in style and price–and all are attractive.

A piece of horse-related jewelry with the four books, makes the PERFECT gift (very appealing) for the young homeschooling girl (or tween) in your life. When the books and the bracelet we chose (the red stretchy bracelet–very cute) arrived at our office, there were MANY “oohs and ahhs” (as my father use to say)–everyone appreciated the overall look–and really, everyone wanted a set of their own!