Connect with us
Like Homeschool.com on Facebook Follow Homeschool.com on Twitter Pin Homeschool.com on Pinterest Add Homeschool.com on Google+ Visit Our Homeschooling Forum Visit Our Youtube Channel
Homeschool.com, the #1 homeschooling community.  We help you take learning from Ordinary to Extraordinary!
| More
space

Homeschool.com Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Single Mom Looking to Homeschool

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
calishaye View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote calishaye Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Single Mom Looking to Homeschool
    Posted: 08/Oct/2012 at 6:46am
Hello, I am a  newbie here.  I have a 12 YO son and 15 YO daughter who want me to homeschool them.  My daughter always struggled with the public school environment.  She is extremely intelligent and always learned best on her own.  My son loves to be around people but since middle school is not fun with no recesses and more pressure to get more work done with less time, he is having a hard time. 

I homeschooled my daughter for 2nd grade and it was a good year.  We didn't do much schooling as it was our first year, I just separated from her father, and we were transitioning in many ways, but it was one of her best years.  She became quite mature in that year and confident around others, especially adults.  She had a difficult time, especially in math, when she had to go back to public school her 3rd grade as she was behind.  She's never been one for socializing.  She loves her alone time reading and drawing.